Nominations Now Being Accepted for Stanford Law School’s National Public Service Award

Stanford Law School’s National Public Service Award honors an attorney who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to public service and social justice in his/her career. Nominees should be leaders in their fields who embody the tradition of public service.

The award will be presented at the Levin Center’s Annual Public Service Awards Dinner in the Fall of 2013.  Nominees for the National Public Service Award do not need to be Stanford Law School alumni.

The award is open to attorneys engaged in a broad spectrum of public interest or public service work, including litigation, education, or advocacy in the non-profit and government sectors. Stanford welcomes nominations of individuals with long, accomplished careers, as well as of younger attorneys who have significantly advanced social justice in the past year.

Recent award recipients include The Honorable Patricia M. Wald, for her lifetime of public service; Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. for his lifetime of public service; Bryan Stevenson, Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative; Debo P. Adegbile, the Director of Litigation at the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.; and Shannon Price Minter, the Legal Director of the National Center for Lesbian Rights.

The nomination deadline is April 1.  More details are available online.