Displaying posts categorized under

Writing Competitions

Notre Dame Law School Smith Doheny Legal Ethics Writing Competition – Call for Papers

Notre DameLawSchool sponsors an annual writing competition on the topic of legal ethics. All students with an interest in legal ethics are invited and encouraged to participate. The competition is open to all law students at U.S. and Canadian law schools. Entries should concern any issue within the general category of legal ethics. Entries must […]

Paul Faherty Tax Law Writing Competition – $3,000 Grand Prize

The Center for Tax Law and Employee Benefits at The John Marshall Law School in Chicago is pleased to announce the 2013 Paul Faherty Tax Law Writing Competition. James Lynch, a partner at Winston & Strawn LLP, has graciously endowed this writing competition to honor Paul Faherty, former director of the Center for Tax Law […]

The International Association of Defense Counsel 2013 Legal Writing Contest

All J.D. candidates currently enrolled in accredited law schools are eligible to participate in the International Association of Defense Counsel (IADC) Legal Writing Contest. Entrants must write on subjects in the fields of tort law, insurance law, civil procedure, evidence or other areas of the law of practical concern to lawyers engaged in the defense […]

American College of Employee Benefits Counsel Law Student Writing Contest

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel is an IRC Section 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization dedicated to elevating the standards and advancing the public’s understanding of the practice of employee benefits law. In pursuit of this goal, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits laws, initiates professional discussions of significant employee benefits issues […]

James William Moore Federal Practice Award Fourteenth Annual Award (2013)

LexisNexis® is pleased to announce the Fourteenth Annual James William Moore Federal Practice Award. Named after the author of the leading treatise on federal civil practice and procedure, Moore’s Federal Practice®, the award is intended to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship in this complex and evolving area of the law. This year’s prizes will be […]

The National Association of Women Lawyers® 2012-13 Selma Moidel Smith Law Student Writing Competition

The National Association of Women Lawyers (NAWL) is a national voluntary legal professional organization whose mission is the advancement of women in the legal profession and women’s rights. Since 1899, NAWL has served as an educational forum and active voice for the concerns of women lawyers in this country and abroad. NAWL continues to support […]

Affordable Housing and Community Development 2013 Law Student Legal Writing Competition

Eligibility: Open to all students currently enrolled in an ABA Accredited Law School.  Topic: Papers should address any legal issue regarding affordable housing and/or community development law.  Submission Requirements: Entries must be original, unpublished work. Articles should be between 25-50 double-spaced pages and should include footnotes. The page limit includes the endnotes. However, if an […]

The 2013 William W. Greenhalgh Student Writing Competition

ELIGIBILITY: The contest is open to all students who are members of the American Bar Association and who, at the date the entry is submitted, attend and are in good standing at an ABA-accredited law school within the United States and its possessions. Membership in the Criminal Justice Section is not a requirement. TOPIC: SOCIAL MEDIA: […]

The Howard C. Schwab Memorial Essay Contest

Overview: This annual contest, conducted by the ABA Section of Family Law, was established by the Toledo Bar Association and the Ohio Bar Foundation as a memorial to Howard C. Schwab, a Past President of the Toledo Bar Association and Past Chairman of the Family Law Committee of the Ohio Bar Association. He was Chairman-Elect […]

The ABA Section of Antitrust Law Student Writing Competition

Winners of the Section of Antitrust Law Student Writing Competition get $2,000 and a trip to the Spring Meeting – airfare, accomodations, and registration paid. The Law Student Writing Competition encourages and rewards student-written articles in the area of antitrust law, competition policy, and consumer protection law. How to Enter: Write an article about antitrust. […]